Commentary: Jackie’s Bucket List

Jeremy’s Commentary –

5. Keep a Plant Alive

It’s not that I don’t have a green thumb (which I probably don’t); it’s that I have zero desire to do the work to keep any non-sentient being alive. I’l take care of dogs and humans because they’re cool. And I like the way plants look (most of them), and I like that they literally keep us dogs and humans alive, but I’ll leave the taking care of them to others.

4. Live Somewhere I Love

I live in Colorado, and who couldn’t love Colorado? For us it’s just a matter of where we live in this glorious state. We’d like to have a bit of land in some rural-ish community. That’d be nice.

3. Ride in a Hot Air Balloon

I guess so. Hot air balloon’s (HAB) are cool. One of the biggest HAB rallies take place in Albequerque, NM. I’ve never been to that one, but I have been to one in Farmington, NM, that was much smaller but still pretty neato. I’ve never been in one, and would probably be a bit scared. You’re basically siting in a wicker basket being supported hundreds of feet in the air by a thin piece of polyester (or whatever the balloons are made of). You’d be much safer tying a GoPro to a balloon, and watching the video on a large screen.

2. Adopt Older Children/Teens

For about six months about 8 years ago, I worked a youth-detention center thing. It was like a cross between juvenile detention and reform school. It was hard work, but it opened my eyes to how many kids there are in the world that just need someone to love them. Somewhere deep in my heart is a desire to do something for such kids. Maybe one day when we get the land I talked about above my wife and I could take on some older foster kids. Maybe we could have a garden and animals (we do want to breed some type of dog one day), and the kids could help us with that. Maybe we could have a big farm-like place and Jax and her husband could move there and we’d run a facility for teen-aged foster kids. I think that’s a pretty great idea.

1. Visit Yap Islands

Boy, this one takes it. I hope and pray that Jax gets to do this. I know that her Islander ancestry means a whole lot to her.

Matt’s Commentary –

5. Keep a Plant Alive

One of the hardest things to do in life, especially if that plant is of the indoor variety. I’ve had various leafy greens growing inside the house over the years and only have kept one alive but that is through no effort of my own. The plant I believe is hardy enough to endure the indoor environment as well as a lack of water for an extended period of time. That strength must come from something outside even me because I surely am not helping it live.

4. Live Somewhere I Love

I dream about living in the country but honestly, I like the fast-pace of life in the city, even if technically I am more in the suburbs. After visiting New York City for the first time, I would be lying if I wasn’t tempted to move there as I didn’t want to ever leave. Being the cultural and artistic center of the United States and arguably the world is very appealing to me as a musician and writer.

3. Ride in a Hot Air Balloon

Better idea: Skydiving.

2. Adopt Older Children/Teens

I will pray alongside you and Zach as you both consider this for your family. This is also something that has always been on my heart as these children I always feel are forgotten for various reasons. I want a home that is open to the fatherless even if those children are only with us for a short period of time.

1. Visit Yap Islands

Game over. You win.

Leave a Reply

