Commentary: Jackie’s Best Albums of 2015

Matt’s Commentary –

WILD CARD: So Familiar by Steve Martin & Edie Brickell. A real wild card would be if you chose Carly Rae Jepsen’s “Emotion” not a talented banjo player like Steve Martin. Rookie move, Jackie. Rookie move.

5. Goon by Tobias Jesso Jr. I only have enough room in my heart for one Tobias and since this isn’t the guy who blues himself or puts bangers in his mouth, I don’t know if can handle it. I did check out a few tracks and he’s fine as a singer songwriter.

4. Sermon on the Rocks by Josh Ritter. Hallelujah! If our lists were 10 albums deeps this definitely would be in my top 10. I arrived at this album only a few weeks ago and it is an absolute delight.

3. The Firewatcher’s Daughter by Brandi Carlile and Sprinters by Torres:  No clue who Brandi Carlile is but from the small sampling of her tunes I just took in, she definitely has music I’d like to get into my earholes. And Torres? That girl is fire. Fire I tell you. Perfect placement for that album.

2. Sound and Color by Alabama Shakes and Bones by Son Lux. Do I mind that you are copying my #2 and #3 choices? Hell no. Glad to see agreement on Son Lux here and that the Alabama Shakes make an appearance on your list.

1. Coming Home by Leon Bridges. I get it now. You are the brown-skinned girl he is singing about on this album, does your husband know you  have such a famous admirer?

Jeremy’s Commentary –

WILD CARD: So Familiar by Steve Martin & Edie Brickell.  I’m sorry, but this isn’t a wildcard. It’s a bonus, and you can do that, but if you’re gonna pull out the “wildcard” you really better use it correctly. Matt and I will discuss this with you later. Oh, and I haven’t listened to the this album, but I’ve heard them sing before, so it’s fine.

5. Goon by Tobias Jesso Jr.  Not heard of this guy before, so I’m just going by the video, and…no. Not doing it for me. Do we really need another mopey songwriter? (“No” is the only acceptable answer to that question). The song begins with him saying, “Why don’t you still love me?” As he sings those words in the video, there is literally a woman (maybe not the woman, though) above his head with her back to him. Really? REALLY? There maybe more to this guy, but the first impression is not strong.

4. Sermon on the Rocks by Josh Ritter.  And all God’s people said? “Amen!”

3. The Firewatcher’s Daughter by Brandi Carlile and Sprinters by Torres. I listened to Carlile after reading your recommendation. I’ll definitely have to put that on some more rotations. She does pair very well with Torres, and hopefully you know my feelings about Torres. It’s great that we have a lot of agreement on these albums, but it’s also great that we have some distinct and different choices.

2. Sound and Color by Alabama Shakes and Bones by Son Lux. I agree with you on these choices. They are both great albums. I am a bit worried about the stalking statement, however. I’m not sure what legal liability Matt and I have in this situation. For the record let me state that I am opposed to stalking, and I recommend you don’t do it. Even more cause for concern is your apparent obsession with Marky Mark. Matt and I have a lot to discuss.

1. Coming Home by Leon Bridges. Leon Damn Bridges is right. Still don’t fully understand what a “bae” is, but, sure, I’m totally with you on this one.

Leave a Reply

