Top 5ive Meals We Love to Cook: Commentary on Blake’s List

Matt’s Commentary –

5. Beef Stroganoff. After eating this on numerous occasions throughout 30 of my 35 years of life, the jury is still out on whether or not I like it. Meh is how I feel about it currently. I don’t hate it but I am not going to make this meal for myself unless I have someone coming over who really loves it. Blake, I’d make it for you though whenever you come visit Norcal.

4. The Classic Grilled Cheese Sandwich. Have you had it with pesto and swiss cheese? Ermahgerd I want some of that grilled of the cheese sam’wich in my mouth right now.

3. Cauliflower & Chicken Casserole. Guess who is going to the grocery store right now to pick up some cauliflower? This. Guy. Right. Here. That sounds pretty damn good and simple. Both things I like in making a meal.

2. Grilled Portobello Burgers. Now this is something I haven’t made in years but when you get it just right, it is tasty and a good change up from the normal beef and cheese on a sesame seed bun. Good choice.

1. Balsamic Pork Tenderloin. *rushes to Walmart to pick up a cheap crock pot so that he can partake in this deliciousness*

Jeremy’s Commentary–

5. Beef Stroganoff. I grew up eating BS made with ground beef. After I got married my wife’s family introduced me to BS made with stew meat, and, with all deference to my wonderful mother, stew meat it far better. To be exact, diced chuck roast is far better (a lot of the “stew meat” you can by at the local grocery store is not as tender as chuck–it’s probably round steak or some such lesser cut). Most of my kids love this meal (it’s one of my daughters’ favorite meals), which is great for us (my wife and myself), as this is a very easy meal to make.

4. The Classic Grilled Cheese Sandwich. I’ll disagree slightly with Matt on the swiss cheese (not a fan), but I’ll agree with both him and Blake that this is a nice meal. If you’re gonna make it, though, you must use sour dough bread, and either sharp cheddar or smoked gouda. Adding pesto or bacon (no ham) is fine, but with the basic two ingredients (three if you count the butter) you can do wonders.

3. Cauliflower & Chicken Casserole. Nope. Can’t do the cauliflower. Not sure where Blake gets his cauliflower, but every bit of it I’ve tried has a strong flavor, one that does not sit well on my taste buds. I don’t care what chicken or other ingredients you throw in with it, this is a no go for me.

2. Grilled Portobello Burgers. I was formerly an anti-fungite. I couldn’t and wouldn’t eat mushrooms, no matter how they were prepared. My culinary scope has grown dramatically as I have grown older, and now I rather enjoy the ‘shrooms, especially the portobello variety. I have never had a grilled portobello burger, but the way Blake describes it sounds enticing.

1. Balsamic Pork Tenderloin. Pork is quite amazing. There are so many ways you can serve it. And there are so many ways you can prepare it in the crock pot. I don’t think I’ve ever had a recipe similar to this one, but the balsamic vinegar sells it for me. Maybe Blake can cook this for my family the next time he’s in town?

Leave a Reply

